I’m trying to remember the exact moment I decided to lock. I wish I had recorded the date and wrote about it. What I do remember is that is was one of the easiest decisions I’ve ever made. I felt a sense of peace about my decision.

Although I’ve worn my hair braided or in sis twists continuously since I had my last perm, I’ve always known one day I’d give my hair free.

And that time came late last year. It was something like an epiphany. I just knew it was time. It was just a matter of what to do with my hair.

I know this may cause a lot of controversy and side eyes but I could never see myself dealing with my hair out in a fro or in various natural hair styles.  I have absolutely no patience when it comes to managing it. I have zero desire to do so. It’s a lot of work that I’m simply not interested in doing long term.

I’ve always had loc envy. Always. I see sistas everyday with the most gorgeous locs and I stare. On some level, I think I’ve always known that this is what I wanted when I freed my hair.

I remember the first woman I ever met that has Sisterlocks. It was several years ago and I remember admiring them deeply and asking a bunch of questions. However, I wasn’t ready then. I couldn’t imagine wearing my hair back then. What a different some years makes.

I just reconnected with her via Facebook and I see that she still has them and they have grown into a beautiful crown adorning her head. I don’t think it’s by accident that as I embark on this journey, I just discovered (or remembered) that we share the same birth date.

As I continue my research, my certainty continues to grow that this is the right decision for me and my hair. The plan is to have my locks installed in early Spring. My favorite season. Change of season. BIG change for me.

